Intervarsity Trading Competition

Discovering the traders of the future

In association with

The next Star Beta Intervarsity Trading Competition will be held from 2nd March to 9th March 2020. The individual winners will receive $1,000AUD for 1st place, $500AUD for 2nd place, $300AUD for 3rd place, $200AUD for 4th place and $100AUD for 5th place, plus the winning University will receive $1,000AUD. Please contact the participating Society at your University to enter!
No, entrance into the competition is free.
Yes, you will be trading Bitcoin with a real live account on Bitmex.
Every account will be funded with a small amount of Bitcoin. You will be restricted to trading the Bitcoin Perpetual Swap product with a maximum position size of 0.01 Bitcoin.
While Bitmex offers access to many tradeable products in the cryptocurrency universe, restricting the competition to one product allows us to objectively assess traders’ performances using the same market conditions.  Since the Bitcoin Perpetual Swap on Bitmex is the most liquid Bitcoin product in the world we see it as the best product to trade in this competition.
The competition runs for 1 week from 8th October to 15th October 2019
The winning trader will be the trader who has the highest account balance at the end of the competition and has completed at least 20 trades in the Bitcoin Perpetual Swap. Trading in other products will result in automatic disqualification from the competition.

The winning University will be the one whose traders collectively make the most money. Each trader who completes more than 20 trades and makes a profit will have that profit added to the total profit of their University.

A leaderboard showing the position of each University and the top 3 traders will be updated at 6pm from Monday to Friday on this web page.
We give 100 accounts to each of the participating Universities. Please contact the relevant society which we have organised to manage the competition at your University to receive an account. The list is below:
  • FMAA University of New South Wales
  • FMAA University of Sydney
  • FMAA University of Melbourne
  • FMAA Monash University (Clayton)
  • FMAA Monash University (Caufield)
  • FMAA University of Queensland
  • UNSW Forex Society
  • UTS Investment Society
  • Macquarie University Business Society
  • Curtin Wall Street Club
  • Auckland University of Technology Investment Club


October Competition Winners

Rank Name University Profit
Rank 1st
Name Wiktor Dytnerski
University Uniwersytet Ekonomiczny we Wroclawiu
Profit 60%
Rank 2nd
Name Pawel Rakoczy
University Uniwersytet Marii Curie-Sklodowskiej w Lublinie
Profit 55%
Rank 3rd
Name Shannon Chan
University University of New South Wales (Forex Soc)
Profit 53%
Rank 4th
Name Luxi Lin
University University of New South Wales (Forex Soc)
Profit 41%
Rank 5th
Name Cheng Ma
University University of New South Wales (Forex Soc)
Profit 33%

Winning University

University of New South Wales (Forex Soc)